Dallas Criminal Lawyer

                  

Drug Charges - Dallas Criminal Defense Attorney 

Are you looking for a result producing criminal defense attorney in Dallas or our surrounding city's? Have you been charged with possession, delivering, manufacturing, controlled substance felony, probation violation DWI, DUI or DWLI? A drug charge is not to be taken lightly and getting convicted of a criminal charge may disqualify you from certain jobs, loans, habitation and even colleges. The good news is The Law Office of David M. Jordan, PC has been very successful in educating their clients and winning drug cases. Texas is harsh on drugs whether it is marijuana, cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine's or any other substance deemed an illegal substance. Certain drugs are considered "less dangerous" than others so they will carry similar charges with smaller penalties. Any drug possession conviction will carry at least a 6 month drivers license suspension under Texas statutes. The Health and Safety Code sets the possession law separating controlled substances into 5 penalty categories plus a marijuana category. Even though some of the substances mentioned are legal prescription drugs it is illegal to carry or possess them without a personal and valid prescription.   


PENALTY GROUP EXAMPLES OF DRUGS/CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES
Penalty Group 1 - Cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, GHB, ketamine, oxycodone, and hydrocodone.
Penalty Group 1A - LSD
Penalty Group 2 - Ecstasy, Molly, PCP, mescaline, resinous extracts of Cannabis that aren’t marijuana, (e.x. hashish, concentrated marijuana oil, dabs, shatter, wax)
Penalty Group 3 - Valium, Xanax, and Ritalin.
Penalty Group 4 - Compounds containing Dionine, Motofen, Buprenorphine or Pyrovalerone


Penalties for Drug Possession in Texas

Felony possession or misdemeanor possession charges depend on the penalty group and weight or amount of the drug.

Penalty Group 1

*WEIGHT CLASSIFICATION PENALTY*
Less than one gram State jail felony 180 days to 2 years in a state jail and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
1 gram or more, less than 4 grams Third-degree felony 2 to 10 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
4 grams or more, but less than 200 grams Second-degree felony 2 to 20 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
200 grams or more, but less than 400 grams First-degree felony 5 to 99 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
400 grams or more Enhanced first-degree felony 10 to 99 years and a fine of not more than $100,000

Penalty Group 1A

*AMOUNT CLASSIFICATION PENALTY*
Fewer than 20 units State jail felony 180 days to 2 years in a state jail and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
20 or more units, but less than 80 units Third-degree felony 2 to 10 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
80 units or more, but less than 4,000 units Second-degree felony 2 to 20 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
4,000 units or more, but less than 8,000 units First-degree felony 5 to 99 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
8,000 units or more Enhanced first-degree felony 15 to 99 years in a state prison and a fine of not more than $250,000

Penalty Group 2

*WEIGHT CLASSIFICATION PENALTY*
Less than one gram State jail felony 180 days to 2 years in a state jail and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
More than 1 gram, less than 4 grams Third-degree felony 2 to 10 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
More than 4 grams, less than 400 grams Second-degree felony 2 to 20 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
400 grams or more Enhanced first-degree felony 5 to 99 years and a fine of not more than $50,000

Penalty Groups 3 and 4

*WEIGHT CLASSIFICATION PENALTY*
Less than 28 grams Class A misdemeanor Not more than 1 year in a county jail and/or a fine of not more than $4,000
28 grams or more, but less than 200 grams Third-degree felony 2 to 10 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
200 grams or more, but less than 400 grams Second-degree felony 2 to 20 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
400 grams or more Enhanced first-degree felony 5 to 99 years and a fine of not more than $50,000

Law Office of David M. Jordan 

Criminal Defense Attorney - Dallas TX

214-956-7824